Judith Förster/Stella Horta: showdown AV
JANUARY 17–22

This cinematic avatar of Judith Förster’s performance showdown extends the format of screen dance and dance documentary film as an audiovisual work. In search of the different ways of relating text and moving images to each other, showdown AV offers non-didactic insights into the narrative worlds and research that have accompanied the performance’s development process. Through a sensitive cut in sound and video as well as intimate close-ups, the film invites the audience to follow their own associations or to let themselves fall into the images of the film.

“The battle is over.
The dead are washed and finally covered with a wet cloth.
The living stop. They mourn while they indulge in the vividly twitching memories of the battle just past.” (Film quote showdown AV)

Artistic directOR Judith Förster VIDEO, TECHNICAL DIRECTOR Stella Horta DANCE Judith Förster, Nanna Sigsdatter Mathiassen COSTUMES Martin Sieweke STAGE Julian Weber SOUND Fjóla Gautadóttir LIGHT DESIGN, Technical AND Production Assistant André Uerba DRAMATURGY Isabel Gatzke AUDIO DESCRIPTION Judith Förster, Isabel Gatzke, Renae Shadler FEEDBACK AUDIO DESCRIPTION Sophia Neises VOICE Merel Steenbrink

A production by Judith Förster/Stella Horta. The 31st edition of Tanztage Berlin is a production of the SOPHIENSÆLE. Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. With the friendly support of Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. and Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. Media partners:  Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz and Berlin Art Link.

Judith Förster/Stella Horta: showdown AV
JANUAR 17–22

Dieser filmische Avatar von Judith Försters Performance showdown erweitert als audiovisuelle Arbeit das Format des Screen Dance und Tanzdokumentarfilms. Auf der Suche nach den unterschiedlichen Möglichkeiten, Text und bewegte Bilder miteinander in Beziehung zu setzen, bietet showdown AV nicht-didaktische Einblicke in die Erzählwelten und Recherchen, die den Entstehungsprozess der Performance begleitet haben. Durch einen feinfühligen Schnitt in Ton und Video sowie intime Nahaufnahmen lädt der Film das Publikum ein, den eigenen Assoziationen zu folgen oder sich in die Bilder des Films hineinfallen zu lassen.

Die Schlacht ist vorbei.
Die Toten werden gewaschen und schließlich mit einem nassen Tuch zugedeckt.
Die Lebenden hören auf. Sie trauern, während sie den lebhaft zuckenden Erinnerungen an den gerade vergangenen Kampf frönen.“ (Filmzitat showdown AV)

KÜNSTLERISCHE LEITUNG Judith Förster VIDEO, TECHNISCHE LEITUNG Stella Horta TANZ Judith Förster, Nanna Sigsdatter Mathiassen KOSTÜM Martin Sieweke BÜHNE Julian Weber SOUND Fjóla Gautadóttir LICHTDESIGN, TECHNIK-, PRODUKTIONSASSISTENZ André Uerba DRAMATURGIE Isabel Gatzke AUDIODESKRIPTION Judith Förster, Isabel Gatzke, Renae Shadler beratung AUDIODESKRIPTION Sophia Neises STIMME Merel Steenbrink

Eine Produktion von Judith Förster/Stella Horta. Die 31. Tanztage Berlin sind eine Produktion der SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. und Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. Medienpartner: Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz und Berlin Art Link.