Layton Lachman/Samuel Hertz: DOOM (THE MOVIE)
JANUAR 17–22

DOOM (THE MOVIE) is Layton Lachman’s and Samuel Hertz‘s offering of rhythms, textures, and ways of being-with, together. Even as apocalypses bloom around us, they dance non-stop and launch into a doom-metal concert, howling the approach to the end of the world — a collective grieving and celebration in the face of oncoming doom. They invite us to see, feel, and hear the slow changes of an ending world, and yet propose a non-fatalistic way of attending to each other with care, imagining alternatives to the end-of-days scenario.

Layton Lachman is a choreographer who creates performances rooted in somatics, channeling these experiential practices into immersive, sensorially complex worlds. Layton is committed to dance practice centered on group study and collective authorship — with the understanding that we are always collaborating with those who come before, after, and with us. After working in San Francisco alongside Abby Crain, Mara Poliak, Kathleen Hermesdorf, Sara Shelton Mann, and SALTA, Layton relocated to Berlin. For the past five years they have often been engaged with T.E.N.T. collective  — creating experimental curatorial platforms  — as well as developing their own choreographies. laytonlachman.com

Samuel Hertz is a composer/researcher specialising in sound and climate. Past performances on infrasound, acoustic ecology, and radiophonic lunar transmission have been presented in such venues as Palais de Tokyo (FR), Fylkingen (SE), Pioneer Works (US), Opera North (UK), and the National Science + Media Museum (UK). Hertz has authored nine essays on sound and environment, and his research currently happens within The School of Infinite Rehearsals/Onassis Future Initiative. samhertzsound.de

CONCEPT Layton Lachman & Samuel Hertz CHOREOGRAPHY, DIRECTION Layton Lachman ORIGINAL COMPOSITION Samuel Hertz CREATED AND PERFORMED WITH emeka ene & Caroline Neill Alexander DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY Ethan Folk 1. CAMERA Ivanka Tramp 2. CAMERA Ethan Folk COSTUMES Ivanka Tramp LIGHTING MINQ EDITING Ethan Folk SOUND MIX Samuel Hertz

DOOM (THE MOVIE) is a production by Layton Lachman & Samuel Hertz in co-production with TANZTAGE BERLIN/SOPHIENSÆLE. This production was also made possible with the generous support of DIS-TANZEN and Musikfonds e.V. The 31st edition of Tanztage Berlin is a production of the SOPHIENSÆLE. Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. With the friendly support of Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. and Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. Media partners: Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz and Berlin Art Link.

Layton Lachman/Samuel Hertz: DOOM (THE MOVIE)
JANUAR 17–22

DOOM (THE MOVIE) ist Layton Lachmans und Samuel Hertz‘ Beitrag zu Rhythmen, Texturen und Formen des Miteinanders. Während um sie herum die Apokalypse aufblüht, wird non-stop getanzt: In einem Doom-Metal-Konzert bejubeln sie das nahende Ende der Welt – ein kollektives Trauern und Feiern im Angesicht des Untergangs. Sie laden ein, die langsamen Veränderungen einer zu Ende gehenden Welt zu sehen, zu fühlen und zu hören. Und doch schlagen sie im achtsamen Umgang miteinander einen nicht-fatalistischen Weg ein und denken sich Alternativen zum Endzeitszenario aus.

LAYTON LACHMAN entwickelt Performances, die in der Somatik verwurzelt sind und diese Erfahrungspraktiken in immersive, sensorisch komplexe Welten kanalisieren. Layton Lachman engagiert sich für eine Tanzpraxis, die sich auf Gruppenstudien und kollektive Autor*innenschaft konzentriert – mit dem Verständnis, dass wir immer mit denen zusammenarbeiten, die vor, nach und mit uns kommen. Nachdem Layton in San Francisco mit Abby Crain, Mara Poliak, Kathleen Hermesdorf, Sara Shelton Mann und SALTA zusammengearbeitet hat, zog Layton nach Berlin um. In den vergangenen fünf Jahren arbeitete Layton häufig mit dem T.E.N.T.-Kollektiv zusammen, schuf experimentelle kuratorische Plattformen und entwickelten eigenen Choreografien. laytonlachman.com

SAMUEL HERTZ ist ein Komponist und Forscher, der sich auf Klang und Klima spezialisiert hat. Frühere Aufführungen zu Infraschall, akustischer Ökologie und radiophoner Mondübertragung wurden an Orten wie dem Palais de Tokyo (FR), Fylkingen (SE), Pioneer Works (US), Opera North (UK) und dem National Science + Media Museum (UK) präsentiert. Hertz hat neun Essays über Klang und Umwelt verfasst, und seine Forschung findet derzeit im Rahmen der School of Infinite Rehearsals/Onassis Future Initiative statt. samhertzsound.de

KONZEPT Layton Lachman & Samuel Hertz CHOREOGRAFIE, REGIE Layton Lachman ORIGINALKOMPOSITION Samuel Hertz KREIERT UND AUFGEFÜHRT MIT emeka ene & Caroline Neill Alexander KAMERAFÜHRUNG Ethan Folk 1. KAMERA Ivanka Tramp 2. KAMERA Ethan Folk KOSTÜME Ivanka Tramp BELEUCHTUNG MINQ SCHNITT Ethan Folk TONMISCHUNG Samuel Hertz Besonderer Dank an Mateusz Szymanówka, Walter Freitag, Nadja Krüger, Thea Reifler, Anna Fitoussi, Johannes Paul Raether, Cajsa Godée, Abby Crain & Mara Poliak, Flutgraben Performances und Ponderosa e.V. DOOM existiert im Nachglühen der erstaunlichen Arbeit und des Vermächtnisses von Kathleen Hermesdorf (1967-2020) & Mariana Nobre Vieira (1989-2020).

DOOM (THE MOVIE) ist eine Produktion von Layton Lachman & Samuel Hertz in Koproduktion mit TANZTAGE BERLIN/SOPHIENSÆLE. Unterstützt von DIS-TANZEN und dem Musikfonds e.V.  Die 31. Tanztage Berlin sind eine Produktion der SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. und Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. Medienpartner: Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz und Berlin Art Link.