Tanztage Berlin Podcast 07-10: Plotting Futures Together

With this release of TANZTAGE BERLIN PODCAST we would like to celebrate 25 years and 30 editions of the resilient history of our festival. The four episodes are based on interviews with the former artistic directors of Tanztage Berlin: Barbara Friedrich, Inge Koks, Peter Pleyer and Anna Mülter, conducted in spring 2021 by the current dance dramaturge of the Sophiensaele – Mateusz Szymanówka.

Initiated in 1996 by cultural producer Barbara Friedrich and initially held at the alternative cultural centre Pfefferberg in Prenzlauer Berg, the festival was the first event in the city dedicated entirely to young choreographers. It also provided space for dance artists who moved to Berlin to present their work to local audiences for the first time. As a result of the renovation of the Pfefferberg in 2001, the festival found its new home at Sophiensæle, where it still takes place today. Over time, Tanztage Berlin has managed to successfully mirror the state of the local dance scene while reflecting on the ever-changing intersections of body, identity, politics and their manifestations in contemporary society.

In PLOTTING FUTURES TOGETHER, the history of the festival is the starting point for a critical reflection on the role of Tanztage Berlin for the local dance scene, working cultures, the tasks of a curator, the importance of personal agendas and utopias in curating, and the possibility of dreaming and creating futures. The series takes a close look at the threads picked up from each other and the thoughts travelling through time and space.

The episodes with Barbara Friedrich and Anna Mülter are available in German. The episodes with Inge Koks and Peter Pleyer in English.

Recording, editing and voice over Mateusz Szymanówka Final editing and music Marc Lohr Special thanks to Barbara Friedrich, Inge Koks, Peter Pleyer, Anna Mülter, Franziska Werner, Franziska Schrage, Johanna Withelm and Sonia Fernández Pan

Tanztage Berlin Podcast 07-10: Plotting Futures Together

Mit dieser Ausgabe des TANZTAGE BERLIN PODCASTS möchten wir 25 Jahre und 30 Ausgaben der widerständigen Geschichte unseres Festivals zelebrieren. Die vier präsentierten Episoden basieren auf Interviews mit den ehemaligen künstlerischen Leiter*innen der Tanztage Berlin: Barbara Friedrich, Inge Koks, Peter Pleyer und Anna Mülter, die im Frühjahr 2021 vom aktuellen Tanzdramaturgen der Sophiensæle – Mateusz Szymanówka – geführt wurden.

Das 1996 von der Kulturproduzentin Barbara Friedrich initiierte Festival, das zunächst im alternativen Kulturzentrum Pfefferberg im Prenzlauer Berg stattfand, war die erste Veranstaltung in der Stadt, die sich ganz den jungen Choreograf*innen widmete, aber auch Raum für Tanzkünstler*innen bot, die nach Berlin zogen, um ihre Arbeit erstmals dem lokalen Publikum zu präsentieren. Als Folge der Renovierung des Pfefferbergs im Jahr 2001 fand das Festival sein neues Zuhause in den Sophiensælen, wo es bis heute stattfindet. Im Laufe der Zeit ist es den Tanztagen Berlin gelungen, den Zustand der lokalen Tanzszene erfolgreich widerzuspiegeln und gleichzeitig über die sich ständig verändernden Schnittpunkte von Körper, Identität, Politik und deren Manifestationen in der zeitgenössischen Gesellschaft nachzudenken.

In PLOTTING FUTURES TOGETHER ist die Geschichte des Festivals Ausgangspunkt für eine kritische Reflexion über die Rolle der Tanztage Berlin für die lokale Tanzszene, über Arbeitskulturen, die Aufgaben eines*r Kurator*in, die Bedeutung von persönlichen Agenden und Utopien im Kuratieren sowie die Möglichkeit, Zukünfte zu träumen und zu erschaffen. Die Reihe verknüpft die Fäden, die die Kurator*innen voneinander aufgenommen und weitergesponnen haben, und folgt ihren durch Zeit und Raum reisenden Gedanken.

Die Folgen mit Barbara Friedrich und Anna Mülter sind auf Deutsch verfügbar. Die Episoden mit Inge Koks und Peter Pleyer auf Englisch.

Aufnahme, Schnitt und Voice Over Mateusz Szymanówka Endbearbeitung und Musik Marc Lohr Besonderen Dank an Barbara Friedrich, Inge Koks, Peter Pleyer, Anna Mülter, Franziska Werner, Franziska Schrage, Johanna Withelm und Sonia Fernández Pan