Tanztage Berlin Podcast 11-14: Cancer Season Special

[From: Chani Nicholas You Were Born For This. Astrology for Radical Self-Acceptance]

“Feeling is Cancer’s forte. Cancer initiates us into our need to connect. To release the tears stuck in our ducts. To address our most neglected selves. Cancer creates security and safety through emotional bonds that feel or are familial.”

To celebrate the beginning of the summer under the emotional water sign and inaugurate yet another season of dancing together apart Tanztage Berlin is releasing four new episodes of its podcast. This time we are joining forces with some of the musicians collaborating with choreographers invited to the 2021/2022 edition of the festival – Nkisi, Moro and Samuel Hertz – and one guest from abroad: dogheadsurigeri from the Polish queer-feminist collective Oramics whose work is dedicated to supporting underrepresented artists and amplifying voices of Eastern European electronic music scene.

The work of Nkisi – the alias of Melika Ngombe Kolongo – uncovers the dance floor rituals as a potential for trance as embodied knowledge system. Her ongoing sonic research focuses on rhythm as ancestral technology and sound as multi-dimensional intelligence. The mix of Moro is a mixture of Latin American tracks, sunshine vibes and experiments from all over. SOUNDS OF DOOM is a slide through the sound environments, elements, and events occurring throughout the performance DOOM by Layton Lachman and Samuel Hertz. Swinging wildly between electronic music, wailing doom metal guitars, and field recordings of abandoned hotels in a napalmed valley, the work presented here is a doomed mixtape: rhythms and textures offering a number of ways to approach the end of the world — a collective grieving and celebration in the face of oncoming doom. dogheadsurigeri’s sets are hybrid with rhythmic switch-ups blending cut-up experimental club-music with trap, UK bass, abstract techno and EDM snippets. Born under Scorpio zodiac sign, she’s ruled by impulsiveness and passion, which reflect in everything she does.

Use them wisely, crybabies!

Tanztage Berlin Podcast 11-14: Cancer Season Special

[Aus: Chani Nicholas „Astro Power. Es steht in deinen Sternen. Wie du mit Astrologie dein wahres Potenzial erkennst und lebst“]

„Die große Stärke des Krebses ist das Fühlen. Der Krebs weiht uns ein in unser Bedürfnis nach Verbundenheit. Er lässt die Tränen fließen, die in uns feststecken, und zeigt uns die am  stärksten vernachlässigten Seite unseres Selbst. Der Krebst schafft Sicherheit durch emotionale Bindungen, die sich familiar anfühlen oder es tatsächlich sind.“

Mit gleich vier neuen Folgen des Tanztage-Podcasts feiern wir den Sommeranfang unter dem gefühlsbetonten Wasserzeichen des Krebses und den Start in eine weitere Saison, in der wir gemeinsam getrennt tanzen. Dieses Mal haben wir uns mit einigen der Musiker*innen zusammengetan, die mit den Choreograf*innen zusammenarbeiten, die zur Festivalausgabe der Tanztage Berlin 2021/2022 eingeladen sind – Nkisi, Moro und Samuel Hertz. Als Gast mit dabei ist dogheadsurigeri vom polnischen queer-feministischen Kollektiv Oramics, das mit seiner Arbeit unterrepräsentierte Künstler*innen unterstützt und die Stimmen der osteuropäischen elektronischen Musikszene verstärkt.

Die Arbeit von Nkisi – dem Pseudonym von Melika Ngombe Kolongo – deckt die Rituale der Tanzfläche als Potential für Trance als verkörpertes Wissenssystem auf. Ihre laufende sonische Forschung konzentriert sich auf Rhythmus als uralte Technologie und Klang als multidimensionale Intelligenz. Der Mix von Moro ist eine Mischung aus lateinamerikanischen Tracks, Sunshine Vibes und Experimenten von überall her. SOUNDS OF DOOM ist ein Parcours durch die Klangumgebungen, Elemente und Ereignisse, die während der Performance DOOM von Layton Lachman und Samuel Hertz auftreten. Wild schwankend zwischen elektronischer Musik, heulenden Doom-Metal-Gitarren und Feldaufnahmen von verlassenen Hotels in einem mit Napalm angegriffenen Tal, ist die hier präsentierte Arbeit ein doomiges Mixtape: Rhythmen und Texturen, die eine Reihe von Möglichkeiten bieten, sich dem Ende der Welt zu nähern – ein kollektives Trauern und Feiern im Angesicht des nahenden Untergangs. dogheadsurigeris hybride Sets mischen in rhythmischen Wechseln Cut-Up und experimentelle Clubmusik mit Trap, UK-Bass, abstraktem Techno und EDM-Snippets. Im Sternzeichen Skorpion geboren wird sie von Impulsivität und Leidenschaft beherrscht, was sich in allem, was sie tut, widerspiegelt.

Use them wisely, crybabies!