ZTB E.V. Zukunftswerkstatt #3 Power
January 8 | 12.00 PM

Discourse | Online until January 22
In English with simultaneous translation into German Sign language (DGS)

There’s no people like show people they smile when they are low
Yesterday, they told you you would not go far
That night you opened and there you are
Next day on your dressing room they’ve hung a star
Let’s go on with the show
There’s No Business Like Show Business, Lyrics von Irving Berlin, 1946

After we took a closer look at questions of work culture and (mental) health in 2021, this year’s episode of “Future Workshop” encourages you to reflect, discuss and examine the underlying structures of our lives at work. POWER takes on different shapes and forms within the dance scene of Berlin and we are yet to underpin the problems so they could, ultimately be resolved. The third edition of the discursive format, facilitated and organised by ZTB e.V. and Tanztage Berlin, is an invitation to imagine working environments founded in equality – through an embrace of all identities and needs. It promotes organising for the sake of strengthening that plurality while learning from it.

We propose to start from the recognition of the multiple power holders and gatekeepers that determine our dance making –  from myths, traditions, histories, economies, institutions and politics that, more often than not, render the working people in the field powerless or silenced within their working environments.

With invited guests we will talk about the existing initiatives, projects and strategies that can inspire our future attempts in standing up to power or seeking empowerment in organizing with others at our workplaces in Berlin, and beyond.

Moderation Kasia Wolińska GUESTS Fatima Çalışkan, Robyn Doty, Sonya Lindfors

Fatima Çalışkan is a curator and writer on cultural policy and the arts. In addition, she works as a consultant and speaker on the topics of cultural policy transformation processes, structural further development in the German funding landscape (both regionally and nationally) and development strategies for staff and audiences in cultural institutions. In 2021 she co-authored the catalogue („Maßnahmenkatalog“) of the Berlin model project FAIRSTAGE on discrimination-critical and good working conditions for all permanent and freelance employees at publicly funded Berlin theatres.

Sonya Lindfors is a Cameroonian-Finnish choreographer and artistic director that also works with facilitating, community organizing and education. Lindfors is the founding member and Artistic Director of UrbanApa, an inter-disciplinary and counter hegemonic arts community that offers a platform for new discourses and feminist art practices. UrbanApa hosts workshops, festivals, labs, mentoring and publications among other things. UrbanApa’s fourth publication „Words make worlds“ will come out in December 2021 and was was curated and edited by Lindfors and Maryan Abdulkarim.

Whistle is a platform that facilitates workshops, consults, and creates resources about harassment, discrimination, and abuse of power in the dance-based arts. Founded in 2017 by writer/artist Robyn Doty and dancer/choreographer Frances Chiaverini, Whistle has offered open forums and “Messy Talks” in the US and Germany and facilitated workshops at dance universities, institutions, festivals, and conferences throughout Germany. In 2020, Frances and Whistle had a fellowship at Center of Ballet and the Arts at NYU. While there, they developed resources and guides for dancers, teachers, and choreographers for their website www.whistlewhileyouwork.art.

Kasia Wolińska is a dancer, choreographer and writer based in Berlin. She is interested in and practices dance as an artistic, social and political activity while exploring its complex histories and future potentialities. In 2018, together with Frida Sandström, she founded The Future Body At Work – a theory-practice duet. Since 2019 she serves as a board member of ZTB e.V. – an organisation working for the sake of improvement of life and work in the free scene of dance in Berlin. www.danceisaweapon.com

ZTB E.V. Zukunftswerkstatt #3 Power
Januar 8 | 12.00 Uhr

Diskurs | Online bis 22. Januar
Auf Englisch mit Simultanübersetzung in deutsche Laut- und Gebärdensprache

There’s no people like show people they smile when they are low
Yesterday, they told you you would not go far
That night you opened and there you are
Next day on your dressing room they’ve hung a star
Let’s go on with the show
There’s No Business Like Show Business, Lyrics von Irving Berlin, 1946

Nachdem sich die Zukunftswerkstatt der Tanztage Berlin im Jahr 2021 mit Fragen der Arbeitskultur und der (psychischen) Gesundheit beschäftigt haben, regt die diesjährige Folge dazu an, die zugrunde liegenden Strukturen unseres Arbeitslebens zu reflektieren, zu diskutieren und zu untersuchen. POWER nimmt in der Berliner Tanzszene unterschiedliche Formen an und wir müssen die Probleme erst noch herausarbeiten, damit sie letztlich gelöst werden können. Die dritte Ausgabe des diskursiven Formats, das vom ZTB e.V. und den Tanztagen Berlin konzipiert und veranstaltet wird, ist eine Einladung, sich Arbeitsumgebungen vorzustellen, die auf Gleichberechtigung beruhen – durch eine Umarmung aller Identitäten und Bedürfnisse. Es fördert das Organisieren, um diese Pluralität zu stärken und gleichzeitig von ihr zu lernen.

Wir schlagen vor, von der Anerkennung der vielfältigen Machthaber und Torwächter auszugehen, die unser Tanzschaffen bestimmen – von Mythen, Traditionen, Geschichten, Ökonomien, Institutionen und Politiken, die die arbeitenden Menschen im Feld in den meisten Fällen machtlos machen oder in ihrem Arbeitsumfeld zum Schweigen bringen.

Mit geladenen Gästen sprechen wir über die bestehenden Initiativen, Projekte und Strategien, die uns bei unseren zukünftigen Versuchen inspirieren können, uns gegen die Macht zu wehren oder uns zu ermächtigen, indem wir uns mit anderen an unseren Arbeitsplätzen in Berlin und darüber hinaus organisieren.

Moderation Kasia Wolińska Gäste Fatima Çalışkan, Robyn Doty, Sonya Lindfors

Fatima Çalışkan ist Kuratorin und Autorin im Bereich Kulturpolitik und Kunst. Darüber hinaus arbeitet sie als Beraterin und Referentin zu den Themen kulturpolitische Transformationsprozesse, strukturelle Weiterentwicklung der deutschen Förderlandschaft (regional und national) und Entwicklungsstrategien für Personal und Publikum in Kultureinrichtungen. Im Jahr 2021 ist sie Mitautorin des Maßnahmenkatalogs des Berliner Modellprojekts FAIRSTAGE zu diskriminierungskritischen und guten Arbeitsbedingungen für alle festen und freien MitarbeiterInnen an öffentlich geförderten Berliner Theatern.

Sonya Lindfors ist eine kamerunisch-finnische Choreografin und künstlerische Leiterin, die auch in den Bereichen Moderation, Community Organizing und Bildung arbeitet. Lindfors ist Gründungsmitglied und künstlerische Leiterin von UrbanApa, einer interdisziplinären und gegenhegemonialen Kunstgemeinschaft, die eine Plattform für neue Diskurse und feministische Kunstpraktiken bietet. UrbanApa veranstaltet u.a. Workshops, Festivals, Labs, Mentoring und Publikationen. Die vierte UrbanApa-Publikation „Words make worlds“ wird im Dezember 2021 erscheinen und wurde von Lindfors und Maryan Abdulkarim kuratiert und herausgegeben.

Whistle ist eine Plattform, die Workshops anbietet, berät und Ressourcen zum Thema Belästigung, Diskriminierung und Machtmissbrauch in der Tanzkunst bereitstellt. Whistle wurde 2017 von der Autorin/Künstlerin Robyn Doty und der Tänzerin/Choreografin Frances Chiaverini gegründet und hat offene Foren und „Messy Talks“ in den USA und Deutschland angeboten sowie Workshops an Tanzuniversitäten, Institutionen, Festivals und Konferenzen in ganz Deutschland veranstaltet. Im Jahr 2020 hatten Frances und Whistle ein Stipendium am Center of Ballet and the Arts an der NYU. Dort entwickelten sie Ressourcen und Leitfäden für Tänzer, Lehrer und Choreographen für ihre Website www.whistlewhileyouwork.art.

Kasia Wolińska ist Tänzerin, Choreografin und Autorin und lebt in Berlin. Sie interessiert sich für den Tanz und praktiziert ihn als künstlerische, soziale und politische Aktivität, während sie seine komplexen Geschichten und zukünftigen Möglichkeiten erkundet. Im Jahr 2018 gründete sie zusammen mit Frida Sandström The Future Body At Work – ein Theorie-Praxis-Duo. Seit 2019 ist sie Vorstandsmitglied des ZTB e.V. – einer Organisation, die sich für die Verbesserung des Lebens und der Arbeit in der freien Tanzszene in Berlin einsetzt. www.danceisaweapon.com