Layton Lachman/Samuel Hertz
DOOM
Dance/Performance
January 15 | 18.00 h
January 16 | 18.00 h
Festsaal
15/10 €
PREMIERE
Few to no language language

As part of Tanztage Berlin 2022, the film DOOM (THE MOVIE) can be viewed as video on demand in the online program on this homepage from January 17 to 22. 

DOOM is a performance taking the form of a drone/doom-metal concert within an ever-shifting environment of vibrating hairs – and bodies. DOOM is an accumulation of grievances and a mapping of these grievances into an entanglement of snarls. DOOM is the foreboding of sounds shaking us, creating an obligation to imagine, to check, to envisage the connections between what we are in the habit of keeping separate. Even as apocalypses bloom around us, we dance non-stop and launch into a doom-metal concert, howling our approach to the end of the world – a collective grieving and celebration in the face of ongoing doom. We see, feel and hear the slow changes of an ending world and yet we propose a non-fatalistic way of attending to each other with care, imagining alternatives to the end-of-days scenario.

A text on DOOM by Maxi Wallenhorst has been published at >>>COVEN Berlin.

DOOM exists in the afterglow of the amazing work and legacy of Kathleen Hermesdorf (1967-2020) & Mariana Nobre Vieira (1989-2020).

DOOM lasts about 90 minutes without intermission and is without speech. At times the performers play very loud drone metal music, and often the sound is loud. Hearing protection is provided at the entrance. In some moments the stage and audience area are in complete darkness. There are bright, flickering light effects as well as strobe and heavy fog. The audience area is located on three sides and the audience is seated on these grandstands. There are two wheelchair spaces and one beanbag seat that can be reserved by phone or booked via the online ticket shop or at the box office, if available. If you have any questions or need further information, please contact Gina Jeske at or 030 27 89 00 35.
Click HERE to find information about our performance spaces and pathways, accessible restrooms, parking, directions to the theater, a 360° video tour of the building, and more. 

Layton Lachman is a choreographer who creates performances rooted in somatics, channeling these experiential practices into immersive, sensorially complex worlds. Layton is committed to dance practice centered on group study and collective authorship — with the understanding that we are always collaborating with those who come before, after, and with us. After working in San Francisco alongside Abby Crain, Mara Poliak, Kathleen Hermesdorf, Sara Shelton Mann, and SALTA, Layton relocated to Berlin. For the past five years they have often been engaged with T.E.N.T. collective  — creating experimental curatorial platforms  — as well as developing their own choreographies. laytonlachman.com

Samuel Hertz is a composer/researcher specialising in sound and climate. Past performances on infrasound, acoustic ecology, and radiophonic lunar transmission have been presented in such venues as Palais de Tokyo (FR), Fylkingen (SE), Pioneer Works (US), Opera North (UK), and the National Science + Media Museum (UK). Hertz has authored nine essays on sound and environment, and his research currently happens within The School of Infinite Rehearsals/Onassis Future Initiative. samhertzsound.com

emeka ene is a performer born in London, raised in Berlin. He is lead guitarist and singer in the post-punk band Clear History and is currently undertaking a BA in Dance, Context and Choreography at HZT Berlin. His current interest is in cities, places and spaces, which he engages with through walking scores choreographed by celestial bodies.

Caroline Neill Alexander received her BA degree in Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies from the University of California, Berkeley. For the past five years she has been living and working in Berlin, developing her own work as well as collaborating with other Berlin choreographers and T.E.N.T. Collective. In her own work, she deals with the space between person and persona and the blurred reality of reality. Caroline’s aesthetic is physical, technical, horrific, comedic, beautiful and grotesque and always incorporating voice and text. These ideas were explored in her latest solo works Full Moonay, Sharterlla: House of Desperation, and The Oasis.

 

CONCEPT Layton Lachman & Samuel Hertz BY AND WITH emeka ene & Caroline Neill Alexander CHOREOGRAPHY, DIRECTION Layton Lachman ORIGINAL COMPOSITION Samuel Hertz COSTUMES Ivanka Tramp LIGHTING Gretchen Blegen DRAMATURGY SUPPORT Maxi Wallenhorst special thanks to Ethan Folk and Johannes Paul Raether, MINQ, Mara Poliak and Abby Crain, Philipp Bergmann and Thea Reifler, Matteo Graziano

A production by Layton Lachman/Samuel Hertz in co-production with SOPHIENSÆLE. With additional support from DIS-TANZEN and Musikfonds e.V. The 31st Tanztage Berlin is a production of SOPHIENSÆLE. Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. With the friendly support of Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. and Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. Media partners:  Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz and Berlin Art Link.

Layton Lachman/Samuel Hertz
DOOM
Tanz/Performance
Januar 15 | 18.00 Uhr
Januar 16 | 18.00 Uhr
Festsaal
15/10 €
PREMIERE
Wenig bis keine Sprache

Der Film DOOM (THE MOVIE) ist im Rahmen der Tanztage Berlin 2022 vom 17. bis 22. Januar als Video on Demand im Onlineprogramm dieser Homepage abrufbar. 

DOOM ist eine Performance in Form eines Drone/Doom-Metal-Konzerts in einer sich ständig verändernden Umgebung aus vibrierendem Haar und Körper. DOOM ist das Anprangern von Missständen und die Übersetzung dieser Missstände in ein grollendes Knäuel. DOOM ist die Vorahnung von Klängen, die uns erschüttern und die uns gleichzeitig dazu zwingen, nach der Verbindung dessen zu suchen, was wir für gewöhnlich getrennt halten. Selbst wenn um uns herum die Apokalypse ihre Blüten schlägt, tanzen wir ununterbrochen und beginnen ein Doom-Metal-Konzert, in dem wir den Anfang des Endes der Welt bejubeln – ein kollektives Trauern und Feiern im Angesicht des anhaltenden Untergangs. Wir sehen, fühlen und hören die langsamen Veränderungen einer untergehenden Welt, und doch schlagen wir einen nicht-fatalistischen Weg vor, einander mit Sorgfalt zu begegnen und uns Alternativen zum Endzeitszenario auszudenken.

Ein Text zu DOOM von Maxi Wallenhorst ist erschienen bei >>>COVEN Berlin

DOOM existiert im Zeichen der außergewöhnlichen Arbeit und des Vermächtnisses von Kathleen Hermesdorf (1967-2020) und Mariana Nobre Vieira (1989-2020).

DOOM dauert etwa 90 Minuten ohne Pause und ist ohne Sprache. Zeitweise spielen die Performer*innen sehr laute Drone-Metal-Musik, und oft ist der Sound sehr laut. Gehörschutz wird am Eingang bereitgestellt. In einigen Momenten sind Bühne und Publikumsbereich in völliger Dunkelheit. Es kommen helle, flackernde Lichteffekte sowie Stroboskop und viel Nebel vor. Der Publikumsbereich befindet sich an drei Seiten und das Publikum sitzt auf diesen Tribünen. Es gibt einen Sitzsackplatz und zwei Rollstuhlplätze, die nach Verfügbarkeit telefonisch reserviert oder im Online-Ticketshop sowie an der Abendkasse gekauft werden können. Der Einlass beginnt 20-30 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn. Wir empfehlen, früh zu kommen, um einen geeigneten Sitzplatz auszuwählen. Bei Fragen oder für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske unter oder 030 27 89 00 35.
HIER finden Sie weitere Informationen zu unseren Veranstaltungsräumen und Wegen, barrierefreien Toiletten, Parkmöglichkeiten, Wegbeschreibungen zum Theater, eine 360° Videotour durchs Gebäude und mehr.

LAYTON LACHMAN entwickelt Performances, die in der Somatik verwurzelt sind und diese Erfahrungspraktiken in immersive, sensorisch komplexe Welten kanalisieren. Layton Lachman engagiert sich für eine Tanzpraxis, die sich auf Gruppenstudien und kollektive Autor*innenschaft konzentriert – mit dem Verständnis, dass wir immer mit denen zusammenarbeiten, die vor, nach und mit uns kommen. Nachdem Layton in San Francisco mit Abby Crain, Mara Poliak, Kathleen Hermesdorf, Sara Shelton Mann und SALTA zusammengearbeitet hat, zog Layton nach Berlin um. In den vergangenen fünf Jahren arbeitete Layton häufig mit dem T.E.N.T.-Kollektiv zusammen, schuf experimentelle kuratorische Plattformen und entwickelten eigenen Choreografien. laytonlachman.com

SAMUEL HERTZ ist ein Komponist und Forscher, der sich auf Klang und Klima spezialisiert hat. Frühere Aufführungen zu Infraschall, akustischer Ökologie und radiophoner Mondübertragung wurden an Orten wie dem Palais de Tokyo (FR), Fylkingen (SE), Pioneer Works (US), Opera North (UK) und dem National Science + Media Museum (UK) präsentiert. Hertz hat neun Essays über Klang und Umwelt verfasst, und seine Forschung findet derzeit im Rahmen der School of Infinite Rehearsals/Onassis Future Initiative statt. samhertzsound.com

EMEKA ENE ist ein in London geborener und in Berlin aufgewachsener Performer. Er ist Lead-Gitarrist und Sänger der Post-Punk-Band Clear History und absolviert derzeit ein BA-Studium in Tanz, Kontext und Choreografie am HZT Berlin. Sein derzeitiges Interesse gilt Städten, Orten und Räumen, mit denen er sich in von Himmelskörpern choreografierten Walking Scores auseinandersetzt.

CAROLINE NEILL ALEXANDER absolvierte einen BA in Theater-, Tanz- und Performance-Studien an der University of California, Berkeley. Seit fünf Jahren lebt und arbeitet sie in Berlin, wo sie ihre eigene Arbeit entwickelt und mit anderen Berliner Choreograf*innen und dem T.E.N.T.-Kollektiv zusammenarbeitet. In ihrer eigenen Arbeit beschäftigt sie sich mit dem Raum zwischen Person und Persona und der verschwommenen Realität der Wirklichkeit. Carolines Ästhetik ist körperlich, technisch, grausam, komisch, schön und grotesk und beinhaltet immer auch Stimme und Text. Diese Ideen wurden in ihren letzten Solowerken Full Moonay, Sharterlla: House of Desperation und The Oasis erforscht.

KONZEPT Layton Lachman & Samuel Hertz VON UND MIT emeka ene & Caroline Neill Alexander CHOREOGRAFIE, REGIE Layton Lachman ORIGINALKOMPOSITION Samuel Hertz KOSTÜME Ivanka Tramp BELEUCHTUNG Gretchen Blegen DRAMATURGISCHE UNTERSTÜTZUNG Maxi Wallenhorst Besonderer Dank an Ethan Folk und Johannes Paul Raether, MINQ, Mara Poliak und Abby Crain, Philipp Bergmann und Thea Reifler, Matteo Graziano

Eine Produktion von Layton Lachman/Samuel Hertz in Koproduktion mit SOPHIENSÆLE. Mit Unterstützung von DIS-TANZEN und Musikfonds e.V. Die 31. Tanztage Berlin sind eine Produktion der SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. und Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. Medienpartner: Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz und Berlin Art Link.