Juan Pablo Cámara
La Cosa Piel
Dance/Performance
January 11 | 20.00 h
January 12 | 20.00 h
Festsaal
15/10 €
PREMIERE
In English

January 12 | With German Audiodescription and haptic access tour starting at 6.30 pm

The performances of La Cosa Piel will be presented as a double bill with NON-PLAYABLE CHARACTER by Julia Plawgo.

The backstage is in flames, and I search for the right spot from where to look at it. 
I try to find a reason to cry, but end up smiling evilly…
 
Looking at mannerisms in Latin American telenovelas, La cosa piel delves into hyper-emotionality and the grotesque to explore theatricality, representation and the construction of the self in increasingly alienating times. Together with composer Moro, Juan Pablo Cámara searches for fragile moments within a hyper-constructed environment, to create feelings of intimacy and estrangement. Using the notion/construct of the “drama queen” as a departure point, Juan performs a mash-up of embodiments and texts attempting to expand and reimagine narratives of the self, while navigating edges of performativity and representation.

For questions or information about accessibility, please contact Gina Jeske at or 030 27 89 00 35.

JUAN PABLO CÁMARA is a Berlin-based choreographer and performer from Argentina who graduated from the School for New Dance Development in Amsterdam in 2017. In his choreographic research, he deals with contemporary phenomena such as artificiality, identity construction and disembodiment in order to examine the precariousness of cultural and social constructs. His work has been shown in Buenos Aires, Amsterdam, Berlin, Vienna, Madrid, Lisbon and Poland. As a performer he has worked with choreographers such as Jefta van Dinther, Michele Rizzo, Adam Linder, Kat Valastur.

Audio description + stage tour for blind and visually-impaired persons January 12

Concept, CHOREOGRAPHY Juan Pablo Cámara PERFORMANCE Juan Pablo Cámara, Mauro Guz Bejar (MORO), Juan Felipe Amaya Sound Mauro Guz Bejar (MORO) COSTUME Juliane König, Julieta Omil Light design Emilio Cordero Objects Cee Fülleman Texts Juan Pablo Cámara, Juan Felipe Amaya Dramaturgical SUPPORT Maciej Sado, Mateusz Szymanówka Vocal Coach Harald Stojan AUDIO DESCRIPTION Rike Flämig, Lavinia Knop-Walling, Silja Korn Thanks to Mateusz, Zander, Andrey, Marc, Karol, Ketia, Liina, Billy, James, Ronald, Deva, Andrea, Sophie, Daniel, Luis, Raphaël, the whole Sophiensaele team, and everyone at Thatre Haus Schöneweide, Work Space Brussels, Tanz Haus Zürich.

A production by Juan Pablo Cámara in co-production with SOPHIENSÆLE. With the support of Work Space Brussels and TanzHaus Zürich. The 31st edition of Tanztage Berlin is a production by SOPHIENSÆLE. Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. With the friendly support of Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. and Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. The audio description is carried out in cooperation with Förderband e.V. / Berliner Spielplan Audiodeskription. Media partners:  Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz and Berlin Art Link.

Juan Pablo Cámara
La Cosa Piel
Tanz/Performance
Januar 11 | 20.00 Uhr
Januar 12 | 20.00 Uhr
Festsaal
15/10 €
PREMIERE
Auf Englisch

Januar 12 | Mit deutscher Audiodeskription und vorangehender Tastführung ab 18.30 Uhr

Die Vorstellungen von La Cosa Piel werden als Double Bill mit NON-PLAYABLE CHARACTER von Julia Plawgo gezeigt.

The backstage is in flames, and I search for the right spot where from to look at it.
I try to find a reason to cry, but end up smiling evilly…

Ausgehend von den Manierismen lateinamerikanischer Telenovelas untersucht La cosa piel die Hyper-Emotionalität und das Groteske, um – in zunehmend entfremdeten Zeiten – die Theatralität, Repräsentation und Konstruktion des Selbst unter die Lupe zu nehmen. Gemeinsam mit dem Komponisten Moro sucht Juan Pablo Cámara nach zerbrechlichen Momenten in einer hyper-konstruierten Umgebung, um Gefühle von Intimität und Entfremdung zu erzeugen. Mit dem Konstrukt der „Drama Queen“ als Ausgangspunkt performt Juan Pablo Cámara ein Mash-Up von Verkörperungen und Texten, die versuchen, Erzählungen des Selbst zu erweitern und neu zu erfinden, während sie an den Grenzen von Performativität und Repräsentation navigieren.

Bei Fragen oder für Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske unter oder 030 27 89 00 35.

JUAN PABLO CÁMARA ist ein in Berlin ansässiger Choreograf und Performer aus Argentinien, der sein Studium an der School for New Dance Development in Amsterdam 2017 abschloss. In seiner choreografischen Forschung setzt er sich mit zeitgenössischen Phänomenen wie Künstlichkeit, Identitätskonstruktion und Entkörperlichung auseinander, um so das Prekäre in kulturellen und sozialen Konstrukten zu untersuchen. Seine Arbeiten wurden bisher in Buenos Aires, Amsterdam, Berlin, Wien, Madrid, Lissabon und Polen gezeigt. Als Performer arbeitete er bereits mit Choreograf*innen wie Jefta van Dinther, Michele Rizzo, Adam Linder, Kat Valastur zusammen.

Audiodeskription + Bühnenführung für blinde und sehbehinderte Menschen Januar 12

KONZEPT, CHOREOGRAFIE Juan Pablo Cámara PERFORMANCE Juan Pablo Cámara, Mauro Guz Bejar (MORO), Juan Felipe Amaya Sound Mauro Guz Bejar (MORO) KOSTÜM Juliane König, Julieta Omil Lichtdesign Emilio Cordero Objekte Cee Fülleman Texte Juan Pablo Cámara, Juan Felipe Amaya DRAMATURGISCHE Unterstützung Maciej Sado, Mateusz Szymanówka Vocal Coach Harald Stojan AUDIODESKRIPTION Rike Flämig, Lavinia Knop-Walling, Silja Korn Mit Dank an Mateusz, Zander, Andrey, Marc, Karol, Ketia, Liina, Billy, James, Ronald, Deva, Andrea, Sophie, Daniel, Luis, Raphaël, the whole Sophiensaele team, and everyone at Thatre Haus Schöneweide, Work Space Brussels, Tanz Haus Zürich. 

Eine Produktion von Juan Pablo Cámara in Koproduktion mit SOPHIENSÆLE. Mit der Unterstützung von Work Space Brussels und Tanzhaus Zürich. Die 31. Tanztage Berlin sind eine Produktion der SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. und Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. Die Audiodeskription wird durchgeführt in Kooperation mit Förderband e.V. / Berliner Spielplan Audiodeskription. Medienpartner: Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz und Berlin Art Link.