Julia Plawgo
NON-PLAYABLE CHARACTER
Dance/Performance
January 11 | 20.00 h
January 12 | 20.00 h
Festsaal
15/10 €
Premiere
Few to no language

January 12 | With German Audiodescription and haptic access tour starting at 6.30 pm

The performances of NON-PLAYABLE CHARACTER will be shown as a double bill with La Cosa Piel by Juan Pablo Cámara.

NON-PLAYABLE CHARACTER by Julia Plawgo explores the experiential limits and cognitive dissonances of life in digital space. A body, a hybrid between human, AI and computer game character, moves through cyberspace. Seemingly sleepless, never sick or hungry, self-optimizing and highly adaptable, it learns about its own world. Just like in video games, its universe expands as it moves through it. It’s in this endlessness where a subversive potential lies: while we try to find our way in this digital world, we seem to influence the forms that are created before our eyes. NON-PLAYABLE CHARACTER is an attempt to transfer the experience of disembodied life in cyberspace to the living body. And a longing for digital utopias in times when they are urgently needed.

NON-PLAYABLE CHARACTER lasts about 40 minutes. The piece doesn’t use speech. It uses electronic music with intense bass, which is sometimes very loud. There might be flickering light effects as well as both very bright and very dark moments. The audience area on the grandstand is seated. There are two wheelchair spaces and one beanbag seat that can be reserved by phone or booked via the online ticket shop, if available. Admission begins 20-30 minutes prior to show time. We recommend arriving early to select a suitable seat. Please note that the accessibility information is subject to possible changes. It will be updated continuously. If you have any questions or need further information, please contact Gina Jeske at or 030 27 89 00 35.
Click HERE to find information about our performance spaces and pathways, accessible restrooms, parking, directions to the theater, a 360° video tour of the building, and more.

Julia Plawgo works with dance and choreography as a survival strategy. She studied at HZT Berlin, works mainly with friends and her favourite pop songs are Gypsy Woman (She’s Homeless) by Crystal Waters and You Keep Me Hangin’ On by Kim Wilde.

Audio description + stage tour for blind and visually-impaired persons January 12

CONCEPT, CHOREOGRAPHY, PERFORMANCE Julia Plawgo LIGHTS Emese Csornai Costume Maldoror DRAMATURGICAL SUPPORT Maciej Sado Special thanks Sebastian Ladwig AUDIODESCRIPTION Rike Flämig, Lavinia Knop-Walling, Silja Korn

A production by Julia Plawgo in co-production with SOPHIENSÆLE. With the support of ada Studio. The 31st edition of Tanztage Berlin is a production of SOPHIENSÆLE. Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. With the friendly support of Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. and Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. The audio description is provided in cooperation with Berliner Spielplan Audiodeskription by Förderband e.V. Kulturinitiative Berlin. Media partners: Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz and Berlin Art Link.

Julia Plawgo
NON-PLAYABLE CHARACTER
Tanz/Performance
Januar 11 | 20.00 Uhr
Januar 12 | 20.00 Uhr
Festsaal
15/10 €
Premiere
Wenig bis keine Sprache

Januar 12 | Mit deutscher Audiodeskription und vorangehender Tastführung ab 18.30 Uhr

Die Vorstellungen von NON-PLAYABLE CHARACTER werden als Double Bill mit La Cosa Piel von Juan Pablo Cámara gezeigt.

NON-PLAYABLE CHARACTER von Julia Plawgo erkundet die Erfahrungsgrenzen und kognitiven Dissonanzen des Lebens im digitalen Raum. Ein Körper, ein Hybrid zwischen Mensch, KI und Computerspielfigur, bewegt sich durch den Cyberspace. Scheinbar schlaflos, nie krank oder hungrig, sich selbst konstant optimierend und hochgradig anpassungsfähig, lernt dieser die eigene Welt kennen. Genau wie in Videospielen dehnt sich sein Universum aus, während sich der Körper durch dieses hindurchbewegt. In eben dieser Endlosigkeit liegt subversive Potenzial: Während wir versuchen, uns in einer digitalen Welt zurecht zu finden, scheinen wir Einfluss auf die Formen nehmen zu können, die vor unseren Augen entstehen. NON-PLAYABLE CHARACTER ist der Versuch, die Erfahrung körperlos im Cyberspace zu leben, auf den lebenden Körper zu übertragen. Und zugleich das Verlangen nach digitalen Utopien, die in diesen Zeiten dringend gebraucht werden.

NON-PLAYABLE CHARACTER dauert ca. 40 Minuten. Das Stück nutzt kaum Sprache. Es wird elektronische Musik mit intensiven Bässen genutzt, die teilweise sehr laut ist. Eventuell wird es flackernde Lichteffekte geben und sowohl sehr helle als auch sehr dunkle Momente. Der Publikumsbereich auf der Tribüne ist bestuhlt. Es gibt einen Sitzsackplatz und zwei Rollstuhlplätze, die nach Verfügbarkeit telefonisch reserviert oder im Online-Ticketshop sowie an der Abendkasse gekauft werden können. Der Einlass beginnt 20-30 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn. Wir empfehlen, früh zu kommen, um einen geeigneten Sitzplatz auszuwählen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit sich eventuell ändern können. Sie werden laufend aktualisiert. Bei Fragen oder für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske unter oder 030 27 89 00 35.
HIER finden Sie weitere Informationen zu unseren Veranstaltungsräumen und Wegen, barrierefreien Toiletten, Parkmöglichkeiten, Wegbeschreibungen zum Theater, eine 360° Videotour durchs Gebäude und mehr.

JULIA PLAWGO arbeitet mit Tanz und Choreografie als Überlebensstrategie. Sie hat am HZT Berlin studiert, arbeitet hauptsächlich mit Freund*innen und ihre Lieblings-Popsongs sind Gypsy Woman (She’s Homeless) von Crystal Waters und You Keep Me Hangin‘ On von Kim Wilde.

Audiodeskription + Bühnenführung für blinde und sehbehinderte Menschen Januar 12

KONZEPT, CHOREOGRAFIE, PERFORMANCE Julia Plawgo LICHT Emese Csornai KOSTÜM Maldoror DRAMATURGISCHE UNTERSTÜTZUNG Maciej Sado MIT BESONDEREM DANK AN Sebastian Ladwig AUDIODESKRIPTION Rike Flämig, Lavinia Knop-Walling, Silja Korn

Eine Produktion von Julia Plawgo in Koproduktion mit SOPHIENSÆLE. Mit der Unterstützung von ada Studio. Die 31. Tanztage Berlin sind eine Produktion der SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. und Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. Die Audiodeskription wird durchgeführt in Kooperation mit dem Berliner Spielplan Audiodeskription von Förderband e.V. Kulturinitiative Berlin. Medienpartner: Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz und Berlin Art Link.