Judith Förster
showdown
Videoinstallation/Performance
JANUARY 06–09 | 6–8 PM | VIDEO INSTALLATION
FREE ENTRANCE

JANUARY 10 | 8 PM | PERFORMANCE
JANUARY 11 12 | 6 PM | PERFORMANCE
Festsaal-Foyer
15/10 €
In English/no language

As part of Tanztage Berlin 2022, the world of showdown will inhabit the space of the Festsaalfoyer for one week. In an installative setting, a new adaptation of the film showdown AV by Stella Horta and Judith Förster will be presented from January 06 to 09, followed by the live performance showdown from January 10 to 12. Additionally, the film showdown AV can be streamed as video on demand in English with German audiodescription in the online program on this website from January 17-22.

JanuarY 11 | PERFORMANCE WITH GERMAN AudiodesCription (HAPTIC ACCESS TOUR AT 4.45 PM)

Inspired by Monique Wittig’s Le Corps Lesbien and Octavia Butler’s novel Parable of the Sower, showdown episodically presents the encounter and coexistence of two individuals. In a strange and at the same time provisionally hopeful environment, the two dancers Nanna Stigsdatter Mathiassen and Judith Förster find opportunities to meet – from formal handshakes to body collisions. showdown refers to the worlds of Neo-Western and survivalism, blurring the boundaries between duet and duel, collaboration and sabotage.

paragliding /
______________
__________________ knotting /
___________________________________ masking /
_____________ waterfall /

The performance of showdown runs about 45 minutes and is without language. There will be colorful light effects. There are two wheelchair spaces that can be reserved by phone or booked via the online ticket shop or at the box office, if available. If you need a specific seat due to mobility restrictions or other visible or non-visible disabilities, we recommend to arrive early to be able to choose a seat that suits you. If you have any questions or need further information, please contact Gina Jeske at or 030 27 89 00 35.
Click HERE to find information about our performance spaces and pathways, accessible restrooms, parking, directions to the theater, a 360° video tour of the building, and more. 

JUDITH FÖRSTER works as a stage and costume designer, dancer and choreographer in Berlin. Since her costume design studies in Hamburg (2011-14), she has designed numerous opera and theater productions as well as performative, collaborative works. With her studies at the Hochschulübergreifendes Zentrum für Tanz in Berlin (2015-18), she focused on dance and performance in stage and costume design, as well as in her own artistic works. The interaction of body and material, as well as the inherent potential for intimacy and liminality, is the focus of her research, finding new forms, again and again, in collaborations with choreographers, visual artists and dancers including: OMSK Social Club, Julian Weber, Monica Bonvicini and André Uerba. http://www.judithfoerster.de/

Audio description + stage tour for blind and visually-impaired persons January 11

ARTISTIC DIRECTOR Judith Förster DANCE Judith Förster, Nanna Sigsdatter Mathiassen COSTUME Martin Sieweke STAGE Julian Weber SOUND Fjóla Gautadóttir LIGHT DESIGN, TECHNICAL, PRODUCTION ASSISTANce André Uerba DRAMATURGY Isabel Gatzke AUDIODEScRIPTION Isabel Gatzke

A production by Judith Förster. Funded by Senate Department for Culture and Europe. The 31st edition of Tanztage Berlin is a production of the SOPHIENSÆLE. Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. With the friendly support of Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. and Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. Media partners:  Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz and Berlin Art Link.

Judith Förster
showdown
Videoinstallation/Performance
JANUAR 06–09 | 18–20.00 UHR | VIDEOINSTALLATION
FESTSAALFOYER
EINTRITT FREI

JANUAR 10 | 20.00 UHR | PERFORMANCE
JANUAR 11 12 | 18.00 UHR | PERFORMANCE
Festsaal-Foyer
15/10 €
Auf Englisch/keine Sprache

Im Rahmen der Tanztage Berlin 2022 bewohnt die Welt von showdown eine Woche lang den Raum des Festsaalfoyers. In einem installativen Setting wird vom 06. bis 09. Januar eine neue Bearbeitung des Films showdown AV von Stella Horta und Judith Förster präsentiert, gefolgt von der Live-Performance showdown vom 10. bis 12. Januar. Zusätzlich kann der Film showdown AV auf Englisch mit deutscher Audiodeskription vom 17-22 Januar im Onlineprogramm dieser Webseite gestreamt werde.

Januar 11 | PERFORMANCE mit deutscher Audiodeskription (Tastführung ab 16.45 Uhr)

Inspiriert von Monique Wittigs Le Corps Lesbien und Octavia Butlers Roman Parabel vom Sämann stellt showdown episodisch die Begegnung und Koexistenz zweier Individuen vor. In einer fremden und zugleich provisorisch hoffnungsvollen Umgebung finden die beiden Tänzerinnen Nanna Stigsdatter Mathiassen und Judith Förster Gelegenheit zur Begegnung – vom formellen Händedruck bis zum Zusammenprall von Körpern. showdown nimmt Bezug auf die Welten des Neo-Western und des Survivalismus und lässt dabei die Grenzen zwischen Duett und Duell, Kollaboration und Sabotage verschwimmen.

Paragleiten /
______________
__________________ Knoten /
___________________________________ Maskieren /
_____________ Wasserfall /

Die Performance showdown dauert etwa 45 Minuten und ist ohne Sprache. Es kommen farbige Lichteffekte vor. Es gibt zwei Rollstuhlplätze, die nach Verfügbarkeit telefonisch reserviert oder im Online-Ticketshop sowie an der Abendkasse gekauft werden können. Wenn Sie aufgrund von Mobilitätseinschränkungen oder anderen sichtbaren wie nicht-sichtbaren Behinderungen auf einen spezifischen Sitzplatz angewiesen sind, empfehlen wir Ihnen, frühzeitig zu kommen, um einen geeigneten Sitzplatz auszuwählen. Bei Fragen oder für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske unter oder 030 27 89 00 35.
HIER finden Sie weitere Informationen zu unseren Veranstaltungsräumen und Wegen, barrierefreien Toiletten, Parkmöglichkeiten, Wegbeschreibungen zum Theater, eine 360° Videotour durchs Gebäude und mehr.

Judith Förster arbeitet als Bühnen- und Kostümbildnerin, Tänzerin und Choreografin in Berlin. Seit ihres Kostümbildstudiums in Hamburg (2011-14) stattete sie zahlreiche Opern- und Theaterproduktionen sowie performative, kollaborative Arbeiten aus. Mit ihrem Studium am Hochschulübergreifenden Zentrum für Tanz in Berlin (2015-18) fokussierte sie sich im Bühnen- und Kostümbild wie auch in ihren eigenen künstlerischen Arbeiten auf Tanz und Performance. Die Interaktion von Körper und Material, sowie das dem innewohnende Potential für Intimität und Liminalität, steht im Mittelpunkt ihrer Recherche und findet immer wieder neue Formen in Kollaborationen mit Choreograf:innen, bildenden Künstler*innen und Tänzer*innen: Unter anderem mit OMSK Social Club, Julian Weber, Monica Bonvicini und André Uerba. http://www.judithfoerster.de/

Audiodeskription + Bühnenführung für blinde und sehbehinderte Menschen Januar 11

KÜNSTLERISCHE LEITUNG Judith Förster TANZ Judith Förster, Nanna Sigsdatter Mathiassen KOSTÜM Martin Sieweke BÜHNE Julian Weber SOUND Fjóla Gautadóttir LICHTDESIGN, TECHNIK-, PRODUKTIONSASSISTENZ André Uerba DRAMATURGIE Isabel Gatzke AUDIODESKRIPTION Isabel Gatzke

Eine Produktion von Judith Förster. Gefördert durch die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Die 31. Tanztage Berlin sind eine Produktion der SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. und Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. Medienpartner: Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz und Berlin Art Link.