Enad Marouf
Time of the Angel
Video installation + Talks
JANUARY 19–21 | 6 – 8 H
JANUARY 22 | 3 – 8 H
Festsaalfoyer
Premiere | Entrance Free
In Arabic with English Subtitles

ARTIST TALK with Fehras Publishing Practices | JANUARy 20 | 6 pm
ARTIST TALK with Farah Barqawi | JANUARy 21 | 6 pm
>>>Register here for the artist talks

In Time of the Angel, Enad Marouf creates a fragmented conversation between a ME and a fictional YOU that is multiple. A YOU that has lived in the Middle East for the past 60 years and experienced the first outbreak of the AIDS epidemic. In an uncanny way, that epidemic of the 1980s appears to anticipate the challenging times of today in more than one respect: At both points in time, a world seems to come to an end. In Enad Marouf’s video work, a parallel moment emerges in which the notion of the future is radically put into question.

Time of the Angel is the second part of the project PassageOut of Tme, Out of Place, which deals with queer intimacy, loss and memory. Enad Marouf opens the space for queer narratives and stories from the Middle East by shifting questions of identity politics and stereotyping to processes of embodiment. Queer gestures and speech are thus understood not only as behavior, but as action. The linear narrative is replaced by meditative sequences of performance using fragments of language, movements and 3D renderings of site-specific spaces in Damascus.

Artist Talks
The presentation of the work in the festival is extended by three conversations that take place in the intimate setting of the video installation. Here Enad Marouf will meet other artists from the Middle East to talk about archives, futures, intimacy and technology.

JANUARy 20 | 6.00 pm
with Enad Marouf und Fehras Publishing Practices

Fehras Publishing Practices (Sami Rustom, Omar Nicolas, and Kenan Darwich) is an artist collective founded in Berlin in 2015. It researches the history and presence of publishing and its entanglement in the socio-political and cultural sphere in the Eastern Mediterranean, North Africa, and the Arab diaspora. It sees publishing as a possibility for producing and accumulating knowledge, and for initiating projects in different formats, such as installations, films, publications, lectures, and performances. The collective’s investigations take place at public libraries, book markets, and in private and institutional collections. Fehras examines publishers and university catalogs as well as newspaper, radio, and television archives. Personal stories of publishers, memoirs, letters, and photographs are also part of this research.

JANUARy 21 | 6.00 pm
with Enad Marouf und Farah Barqawi

Farah Barqawi is a Palestinian writer, performer, podcaster, editor and translator. She writes poetry and prose, and her work has been published by Mada Masr, Al-Jumhuriya, Jeem, Romman, and Saqi Books amongst others. In 2019, she produced, directed and hosted the 4th season of the Arabic podcast Eib (Shame) with SOWT, tackling contemporary stories and issues related to love and relationships in the Arabic speaking region. In 2018 – 2019, she toured with her first solo performance “Baba, Come to Me”. She is the co-founder of two feminist projects: Wiki Gender and The Uprising of Women in the Arab World. Farah is currently pursuing an MFA in Creative Nonfiction Writing at New York University, and lives between New York and Berlin.

The video installation Time of the Angel lasts about 25 minutes and runs in a continuous loop. It is in Arabic spoken language with English subtitles.The lighting will be dimmed and there are no light effects or sudden light changes, nor loud or abrupt sound effects. Audience members can enter and exit the space any time. The space is wheelchair accessible. To use the elevator please contact our evening staff. If you have any questions or need further information, please contact Gina Jeske at or 030 27 89 00 35.
Click HERE to find information about our performance spaces and pathways, accessible restrooms, parking, directions to the theater, a 360° video tour of the building, and more.

Enad Marouf is a Syrian/German performance and video artist based in Berlin. In his work, body and text take centre stage, using gesture, dance, language and images as poetics and articulations of temporalities that informs our corporeality and how we recount the world around us accordingly. He finished his MA in choreography and performance at the institute for theatre applied science in Gießen/Frankfurt in 2014. In 2008/09 he worked as an artistic assistant in the video department for the Forsythe company and one year later co-founded the collective New Forms of Life. Since 2016 He has been part of Anne Imhof’s studio. Collaborating with her as a dramaturge, choreographer and performer. His solo works and collaborations has been presented in Athens Biennale, KunstenfestivaldesArts Brussels, 104 Paris, HAU Berlin, Babel Beirut, Centre culturel Francais de Damas, Venice Biennale and Shedhalle Zurich i.a. 

Director Enad Marouf Performance Franziska Aigner, Eren Demirel, Alyha Love, Samuel Pereira and tiran Voice Majed Shalgheen Director of Photography Omar Zaki Assistant camera Veronica Storm Second camera assitant Mayar Abou El Naga Gaffer Alfredo La Corte Assistant Gaffer Isabelle Schmitz COLOR GRADING Alaa Abdullatif 3D GRIDS Filip Setmanuk Cello Pieces Franziska Aigner Sound recording and design Alexander Iezzi Set Design Filip Berg Styling consultant Emman Debattista Hair and Make up Guerdy Casimir Producer Tatianna Peckham Production Management Yara Seifan

A production by Enad Marouf in co-production with TANZTAGE BERLIN/SOPHIENSÆLE. Supported by the NATIONAL PERFORMANCE NETWORK – STEPPING OUT, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the NEUSTART KULTUR. The 31st edition of Tanztage Berlin is a production of the SOPHIENSÆLE. Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. With the friendly support of Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. and Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. Media partners: Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz and Berlin Art Link.

Enad Marouf
Time of the Angel
Videoinstallation + Talks
JANUAR 19–21 | 18.00–20.00 UHR
JANUAR 22 | 15.00–20.00 UHR
Festsaalfoyer
Premiere | Eintritt FREI
Auf Arabisch mit englischen Untertiteln

ARTIST TALK mit Fehras Publishing Practices | JANUAR 20 | 18.00 UHR
ARTIST TALK mit Farah Barqawi | JANUAR 21 | 18.00 UHR
>>>Zur anmeldung für die Artist Talks

In Time of the Angel kreiert Enad Marouf ein fragmentiertes Gespräch zwischen einem ICH und einem fiktionalen DU, das Viele ist. Ein DU, das in den vergangenen 60 Jahren im Nahen Osten gelebt und den ersten Ausbruch der AIDS-Epidemie erlebt hat. Auf unheimliche Weise scheint diese Epidemie der 1980er Jahre die schwierigen Zeiten von heute in mehr als einer Hinsicht vorwegzunehmen: Zu beiden Zeitpunkten fühlt es sich so an, als gehe eine Welt zu Ende. In der Videoarbeit von Enad Marouf entsteht ein paralleler Moment, in dem der Begriff der Zukunft radikal in Frage gestellt wird.

Time of the Angel ist der zweite Teil des Projekts Passage – out of time, out of place, das sich mit queerer Intimität, Verlust und Erinnerung beschäftigt. Enad Marouf öffnet den Raum für queere Erzählungen und Geschichten aus dem Nahen Osten, indem er Fragen nach Identitätspolitik und Stereotypisierung auf Prozesse der Verkörperung verlagert. Queere Gesten und Sprache werden so nicht nur als Verhalten, sondern als Aktion verstanden. Die lineare Erzählung wird abgelöst von meditativen Performance-Sequenzen, die Sprachfragmente, Bewegungen und 3D-Renderings von ortsspezifischen Räumen in Damaskus verwenden.

Artist Talks

Die Präsentation der Arbeit im Festival wird durch drei Gespräche erweitert, die in einem intimen Setting der Videoinstallation stattfinden. Hier trifft Enad Marouf auf andere Künstler*innen aus dem Nahen Osten, um über Archive, Zukunft, Intimität und Technologie zu sprechen.

JANUAR 20 | 18.00 UHR
MIT Enad Marouf und Fehras Publishing Practices

Fehras Publishing Practices (Sami Rustom, Omar Nicolas und Kenan Darwich) ist ein 2015 in Berlin gegründetes Künstler*innenkollektiv. Es erforscht die Geschichte und Präsenz des Verlagswesens und seine Verflechtung mit der soziopolitischen und kulturellen Sphäre im östlichen Mittelmeerraum, Nordafrika und der arabischen Diaspora. Es versteht das Publizieren als eine Möglichkeit, Wissen zu produzieren und zu akkumulieren und Projekte in verschiedenen Formaten wie Installationen, Filme, Publikationen, Vorträge und Performances zu initiieren. Die Recherchen des Kollektivs finden in öffentlichen Bibliotheken, auf Büchermärkten sowie in privaten und institutionellen Sammlungen statt. Fehras durchforstet Verlags- und Universitätskataloge sowie Zeitungs-, Radio- und Fernseharchive. Persönliche Geschichten von Verlegern, Memoiren, Briefe und Fotografien sind ebenfalls Teil dieser Forschung.

JANUAR 21 | 18.00 UHR
MIT Enad Marouf und Farah Barqawi

Farah Barqawi ist eine palästinensische Schriftstellerin, Performerin, Podcasterin, Herausgeberin und Übersetzerin. Sie schreibt Lyrik und Prosa, und ihre Werke wurden unter anderem bei Mada Masr, Al-Jumhuriya, Jeem, Romman und Saqi Books veröffentlicht. 2019 produzierte, leitete und moderierte sie die vierte Staffel des arabischen Podcasts Eib (Scham) mit SOWT, der sich mit zeitgenössischen Geschichten und Themen rund um Liebe und Beziehungen im arabischsprachigen Raum befasst. In den Jahren 2018 und 2019 ging sie mit ihrer ersten Solo-Performance „Baba, komm zu mir“ auf Tournee. Sie ist Mitbegründerin von zwei feministischen Projekten: Wiki Gender und The Uprising of Women in the Arab World. Farah absolviert derzeit einen MFA in Creative Nonfiction Writing an der New York University und lebt zwischen New York und Berlin.

Die Videoinstallation Time of the Angel dauert etwa 25 Minuten und läuft in Dauerschleife. Sie ist in arabischer Lautsprache mit englischen Untertiteln. Die Beleuchtung ist gedimmt. Es gibt keine Lichteffekte oder plötzliche Lichtwechsel, und keine lauten oder abrupten Soundeffekte. Das Publikum kann den Raum jederzeit betreten und wieder verlassen. Der Raum ist barrierefrei zugänglich. Zur Benutzung des Aufzugs wenden Sie sich bitte an unser Abendpersonal. Bei Fragen oder für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske unter oder 030 27 89 00 35.
HIER finden Sie weitere Informationen zu unseren Veranstaltungsräumen und Wegen, barrierefreien Toiletten, Parkmöglichkeiten, Wegbeschreibungen zum Theater, eine 360° Videotour durchs Gebäude und mehr.

ENAD MAROUF ist ein syrisch-deutscher Performance- und Videokünstler, der in Berlin lebt. In seiner Arbeit stehen Körper und Text im Mittelpunkt. Er nutzt Gesten, Tanz, Sprache und Bilder als Poetik und Artikulation von Zeitlichkeiten, die unsere Körperlichkeit und die Art und Weise, wie wir die Welt um uns herum erzählen, entsprechend beeinflussen. Er schloss 2014 seinen MA in Choreografie und Performance am Institut für Theaterwissenschaft Gießen/ Frankfurt ab. 2008/9 arbeitete er für die Forsythe Company als künstlerischer Assistent in der Videoabteilung und war ein Jahr später Mitbegründer des Kollektivs New Forms of Life. Seit 2016 ist er Teil des Studios von Anne Imhof. Mit ihr arbeitet er als Dramaturg, Choreograf und Performer zusammen. Seine Soloarbeiten und Kollaborationen wurden u. a. auf der Athen Biennale, dem KunstenfestivaldesArts Brüssel, 104 Paris, HAU Berlin, Babel Beirut, Centre culturel Francais de Damas, Venedig Biennale und Shedhalle Zürich präsentiert.

REGISSEUR Enad Marouf PERFORMANCE Franziska Aigner, Eren Demirel, Alyha Love, Samuel Pereira, tiran STIMME Majed Shalgheen KAMERAFÜHRUNG Omar Zaki ASSISTIERTE KAMERA Veronika Sturm ZWEITE KAMERAASSISTENTIN Mayar Abou El Naga BELEUCHTUNG Alfredo La Corte ASSISTENZ BELEUCHTUNG Isabelle Schmitz COLOR GRADING Alaa Abdullatif 3D GRIDS Filip Setmanuk CELLO-STÜCKE Franziska Aigner TONAUFNAHME, GESTALTUNG Alexander Iezzi BÜHNENBILD Filip Berg STYLING-BERATER Emman Debattista HAAR & MAKE-UP Guerdy Casimir PRODUKTION Tatianna Peckham PRODUKTIONSLEITUNG Yara Seifan

Eine Produktion von Enad Marouf in Koproduktion mit TANZTAGE BERLIN/SOPHIENSÆLE und der Shedhalle, Zürich. Unterstützt durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ – STEPPING OUT, gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen von NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz. Die 31. Tanztage Berlin sind eine Produktion der SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Tanzfabrik Berlin e. V. und Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte. Medienpartner: Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz und Berlin Art Link.